A Grandad is a special gift <3

In the past twelve months I’ve had to say heartbreaking goodbyes to two very special men. Martin and I were so lucky to have grown up right next to our Grandparents. We got to spend so much time with them and enjoy their love and support at every school play/sports day/prize giving and birthday. As a little girl, I used to heat up my hands inside my Grandad Mac’s big, warm paws and sit at his feet by the fire watching the wrestling. Even in my late twenties, I was waltzing (okay, trying…) around the dance floor with my Grandad Spence and marvelling at the grace he still had at 88 years old – how fortunate am I to have so many years of memories with both my lovely Grandads?! Never once did I hear a raised voice from either of them; they were loving, generous, mischievous and unbelievably kind. What a gift a Grandad is to a little girl ❤

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑